Teaching is managed by the School of Medicine and Surgery.

Responsible for conducting both teaching and research, the School of Medicine guarantees full integration of the lectures, research studies and healthcare services carried out by its academic staff in cooperation with the national and regional health service. Since the 2012-2013 academic year, it has taken over the functions that were previously carried out by the Faculty of Medicine until Law no. 240 of 2010 took effect, which resulted in a reorganisation of the university system.
The School of Medicine and Surgery offers degrees and courses for healthcare professions – forming doctors, medical specialists, healthcare workers and researchers in the field of health and human wellbeing. The School runs Bachelor’s degrees (3 years), Master’s degrees (2 years), combined Bachelor’s + Master’s degrees (6 years), Postgraduate Specialisation programmes and courses for professional development and lifelong learning. These programmes are limited entry – student intake is determined by the Ministry of Education, Universities and Research (MIUR) according to the national health system demands.
Within the School of Medicine there are four departments:
  • Department of Diagnostics and Public Health
  • Department of Medicine
  • Department of Surgery, Dentistry, Paediatrics and Gynaecology
  • Department of Neurology, Biomedicine and Movement.

Teaching strategies

The Department of Surgery, Dentistry, Paediatrics and Gynaecology teaches courses regarding surgery, biomedicine and internal medicine in various areas. Fine attention is paid to Department’s 10 extra-specialised Postgraduate Specialisations: Anesthesia, Reanimation, Intensive Care and Pain Management; Cardiac Surgery; General Surgery; Maxillofacial Surgery; Gynecology and Obstetrics; Child Neuropsychicatry; Orthopaedics and Traumatology; Otorhinolaryngology; Paediatrics; and Urology.

The Department of Surgery, Dentistry, Paediatrics and Gynaecology (DIPSCOMI) promotes connections between university and the world of teachers by consolidating research in lifelong learning and Teaching Education and offering professional programmes for (future) teachers of different levels and categories.
The Department runs Bachelor’s degrees and two Master’s degrees, all of which develop students’ professional skills and are geared towards the world of work.

Further education

The Department also offers a PhD in Cardiovascular Science, a top level qualification that aims to provide students with advanced scientific and academic skills. Professors from other European and non-European universities are regularly invited to teach on all the degree courses, especially the PhD programmes, in order to complement and further develop aspects of the course content, both academically and vocationally.

 DIPSCOMI offers 7 specialised Master courses and 2 Advanced courses
  • Master II in Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Surgery
  • Master II in Tropical Surgery and Humanitary Emergencies
  • Master II in Advanced Oral Surgery and Periodontology (2 years)
  • Master I in Advanced Emergency Nursing (18 months)
  • Master II in Clinical Practice based on Efficacy Tests: Evidence-Based Practice and Health Technology Assessment (Trento)
  • Master I in Psychomotricity (2 years)
  • Advanced course in Periodontal and peri-implant defects
  • Interdepartmental Advanced course in Acquatics and movement wellbeing during pregnancy (with the Department of Neuroscience, Biomedicine and Movement)

'Education announcements' show events and major deadlines for students.
If you are looking for other communications about your courses try searching the 'Announcements for students'.

No scheduled events